Quiet

It seems I’ve been very quiet lately.  I had not noticed until this weekend that I had put up only one blog post all of last month.  The ideas I have wrestled with more recently are bigger ideas that take quite a while to flesh out and to figure out how to express.  Some things deserve careful thought, and they take longer than I’d like.

Popcorn
Image via Wikipedia

In small groups, we talk about the concept of “popcorn” prayer – that is, short, instant prayer dealing with a particular need.  I know lots of people tend to write “popcorn” blogs that are very short and capture a quick thought.  Some of my blogs are sort of that way in that they build on a simple idea that crossed my path on a given day, but they’re rarely just a sentence or two.

I tend to work better when I have something I want to say, not when I just want to say something.  I may not be “the thinker,” but I like to at least pretend I have deep thoughts every now and then!

A huge thing I’m wrestling with lately is how to discern God’s will.  Maggie and I have had quite a few talks on the subject lately, and I think I have a direction to go with it.  I’ve also thought quite a bit about the subject of being thankful.  I’ll try to articulate some of those thoughts soon.

Meanwhile, feel free to read through the rest of the blog and let me know what you think.

One thought on “Quiet

  1. Bryan

    God’s Will. Well don’t start off with any easy subjects huh, Mike? There is a multitude to say and yet nothing that gives the exact answer. My 2 cents would be that a life that continues to draw close to God in a personal way continues to operate more in His will. In short, the more we know God the more we can discern His will. Easy to say, hard to do. That being said I think many of the things we wonder about what Gods will is, are things that there is not a specific answer for. While many of the things His will should be sought for and more adhered to, we do not even want to ask the question.

    This has been my “ponderance” as of late. How much do we believe that God really Loves us? What would our lives look like if we believed God loves us as much as we say we do?
    Zephaniah 3:17 “The LORD your God is in your midst, A victorious warrior He will exult over you with joy, He will be quiet in His love, He will rejoice over you with shouts of joy” Other translations have this as singing … either way … God loves us so much he shouts with joy!!! or sings over us!!! How easily we look away from a God whose love we have only but tasted.

Leave a Reply

