Rear-view Mirror

via Flickr”]Rearview Mirror

At long last, 2010 is in our rear-view mirror.  I’ve been waiting for this time for months.  My motto for 2010 was, “The past cannot get here quickly enough.”

Why the 2010 hate, you ask?

I could give you a serious answer that would help you understand what we’ve been through this past year.  But, if you know us, you already know 2010 was a rocky year, so I’m not going to bore you with the pity party.  We’re past that, anyway.  Besides, there are many people who suffer worse than we did this past year.  Even now, some friends are dealing with scarier issues than we faced.

So, let’s just leave it at that in terms of why.  But every dark cloud is supposed to have a silver lining, right? I read a quote recently by Sir Winston Churchill that went like this:  The pessimist sees difficulty in every opportunity. The optimist sees opportunity in every difficulty.

I really liked that quote, and 2010 was certainly a year of opportunity for us.

  • We had the opportunity to confront false gods, particularly the gods of health, peace, ego, and money.
  • We had the opportunity to focus more on the things that are truly important; things like family and spiritual growth.
  • We had the opportunity to let those around us further into our lives than we had been comfortable with.
  • We had the opportunity to see how much others loved us and cared for us.

Although James is my favorite book of the Bible, I cannot claim to have “considered it pure joy” at all times.  There were times I had to turn to Psalms, which is where I turn when I’m frustrated with God.  I like Psalms because it’s in the pages of Psalms that I see David – the “man after God’s own heart” – struggle with frustration, fear, and even doubt.  David’s struggles reassure and encourage me.

To the family and friends who drew close around us, loved us, and helped us in 2010, thank you.  I don’t know that we can adequately express our gratitude or what a blessing you were to us.  By God’s grace, often expressed through your love, we hope we have weathered the storm.

2011 promises its own set of problems, yet I pray 2011 will be a year of great blessing for you.  If you are carrying burdens from this past year, lay them at the foot of the cross.  Christ said, Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my burden is easy, and my yoke is light.

We seek “rest for our souls” this year as we trust in him.  Come and join us.

One thought on “Rear-view Mirror

Leave a Reply

