New Guitar – Gretsch Hollow Body

I first “played” (I’m using the word loosely) a Gretsch hollow body guitar about a year or two ago at Guitar Center in Raleigh.  I immediately fell in love with the sound of the guitar.  At the time, my brother Keith and I were just goofing around, mostly looking at acoustic guitars, and he was beginning to think about getting an electric guitar.  I hadn’t planned to buy an electric guitar, but I couldn’t get the Gretsch out of my mind.

As far as Gretsch’s go, it wasn’t a horribly expensive one.  In fact, the guitar I fell in love with is, essentially, the entry-level hollow body, the G5120.  One neat thing is, the 5120 is almost exactly like the more expensive models other than the wiring harness and pickups.  So, if you wanted, you could buy the 5120 and then put another $100 – $200 into upgrades and have a guitar that matched up with one worth $1500 or so for about half the price.

Regardless of that, I really loved the sound of the 5120.  It sounded sweeter than a regular solid body electric guitar.  People say that’s because of the movement of the air inside the body.  Also, it has enough projection that you can play it acoustically (not super loud, but loud enough for quality practice or just playing in a room with a few folks).  And, it was versatile enough to sound really good plugged in.

Most people who are attracted to the Gretsch hollow body sound have visions of The Stray Cats or, for one generation back, Chet Atkins.  I enjoy those, but I  also have enjoyed hearing other more contemporary artists go to town on a nice hollow body guitar.

Anyway, I’m no good at playing guitar and I decided it was foolish to splurge on an instrument that I really couldn’t appreciate.  That was a year or two ago.   However, I would regularly notice artists playing a Gretsch while watching concerts on Palladia (one of my favorite channels), and I think I drove Maggie and the kids crazy because I had to point it out every single time.

But a few weeks ago, I was able to put together some money to buy a guitar.  After trying out several slightly less expensive options, I realized I just wasn’t going to be nearly as happy with them as I would be with the Gretsch.  To check my motives on that, I also tried some more expensive guitars and found that I was still happier with the Gretsch.  So I began my quest of finding the best deal I could on a new or like-new Gretsch G5120 hollow body guitar.

Then, I stumbled across something that fascinated me: a version of the 5120 called the Jimmy C Custom.  Gretsch commissioned California artist Jimmy C to pin stripe 700 guitars.  Each one looks a little different because he did them all by hand.  To my shock, I found one being sold by a Gretsch dealer in Canada that was less than the regular 5120 here at home.

The common advice is to not buy a musical instrument online.  I knew that, but I decided this was worth the risk.  So, I am now the happy owner of an orange Gretsch G5120 Jimmy C Custom hollow body guitar, and I LOVE it!

I still can’t play much of anything, but I’m practicing with it every day and getting noticeably better.  One of my dreams is to feel confident enough to play along with a praise band at church.  I think that’d be a neat way to express appreciation for this wonderful gift.

Anyway, you don’t need to run out and buy a guitar, but I would encourage you to pursue the gift of music in any way that you can.  I find music to be a wonderful bridge from here to Heaven.  I am constantly filled with wonder when I hear good music.  It’s one of those things, like looking at the mountains, that just makes me feel the presence of God more clearly.

And the thought that I can make my own music with such a beautiful guitar is just really cool.  Now, I can plink around on the Ritmuller or pick up the guitar.  Either way, it’s a fun time!

One thought on “New Guitar – Gretsch Hollow Body

  1. I was able to play a Gretsch 5122 double cutaway a week or two ago while on vacation in Tennessee. I really enjoyed that, too. I was surprised the sound on it was so rich. The nice thing with the double-cut is that you can more easily play the higher notes on the fretboard.

    We have also since purchased a Fender Squire Jaguar Short-Neck Bass, and Eric and I are now trying to learn bass.

Leave a Reply

