Catching Up

I am sorry I have not made enough time to write lately.  I just realized it has been five months since I last blogged.  A lot has happened since then.

The car in the blog entry below is no more.  The TL did its job and kept Ally safe, but it did not survive the impact.  Ally is perfectly fine.  After a much more exhaustive (and exhausting) search, Ally now has a 2003 Jetta.  I think she likes it.  Meanwhile, Eric also got his permit; look out world!

Our hotel in Fort Lauderdale

Maggie and I just got back from a trip to Fort Lauderdale with our Management Group at the firm.  We had a great trip.  It is an exciting time here at the firm, and it was really great to be able to include the spouses and significant others on this trip.  Maggie really enjoyed being able to relax and read in warm Florida sun.  While she was pretending to be a literate lizard, we had some very encouraging meetings on the future of the firm.  I remain grateful to be part of such a good group of people who happen to also be excellent lawyers.

I’m also very excited to see my brother’s Total Baseball app launch.  It’s a great app.  If you are a fan of MLB and have an iPad, you should check it out.

On a more personal note, I am sad to report that I sold my motorcycle a month or so ago, but I hope the young Marine who purchased it really enjoys it.  Oorah!  I hope to get another bike in the not-so-distant future and have my eye on several right now.

Spiritually, Maggie and I are now hosting a weekly small group from our church.  Speaking of church, one of the most amazing things I’ve seen recently was the response at Summit’s Church at the Ballpark last month.  We had over 11,500 people in attendance and more than 550 people were baptized.  I have to admit baptisms always make me cry.  I am just overwhelmed by the joy of knowing a person has made a commitment with Christ that will carry them into eternity.  There truly is nothing else nearly as important as the decision about salvation.  Anyway, our Summit small group is on top of our monthly “Influencers” small group we already host, the bi-weekly book/Bible study group I have at work, and monthly Gospel & Work group at church.  In case it’s not clear, I believe strongly in small groups!

We are in the stage of life now where we see the parents of friends passing.  My heart bleeds for our dear friends who have lost parents over the past year.  I also hurt for friends who have lost relationships with their parents over the years.  Both losses are painful.  Here’s to our parents; may they understand how truly loved and appreciated they are.

Anyway, I guess I should end here before I ramble even further.  Be blessed.

One thought on “Catching Up

  1. Philip Moore

    Thanks for your Blog Mike. I always enjoy reading it. You are right about the decision to accept Jesus as your Lord and Savior being the most important decision we will ever make because that decision determines our eternal destination.

    Ruth and I helped launch a new church in Harrisburg this past Easter. The first Sunday we had over 600 present and we are averaging between 400 and 500 each Sunday. The name of the church is High Rock Church, Harrisburg. Our pastor is only 28 years old and it is exciting to see God working each week through his ministry.

    Thanks again for remember us in your blog.

    Rejoicing in the Lord, Philip Moore

Leave a Reply

